National Copyright Webinar Series

National Copyright Webinar Series

Register for the webinars below

In 2020 and 2021, the National Copyright Unit (NCU) offered a series of free webinars to help teachers navigate copyright while teaching.

We will be running this webinar series again in 2022.

These free webinars are open to all Australian schools and TAFEs (excluding Victorian TAFEs) and are targeted to teachers and teacher-librarians/librarians. The webinar covers topics such as:

  • basic introduction to copyright
  • what schools and TAFEs are allowed to do under the various education licences
  • free education use exceptions – flexible dealing, exam copying, performing and communicating works in the classroom and disability access exceptions
  • guidelines for schools and TAFEs about teaching students online
  • using Netflix, YouTube and audiobooks in class, including virtual classes
  • finding and using ‘Creative Commons’ licensed material and ‘Open Education Resources’
  • livestreaming of music performances/concerts.

2022 Webinar dates are below:

For School staff:

Fri 27 May (9am – 3pm AEST) Register Here
Wed 22 June (9am – 3pm AEST) Register Here
Thurs 4 August (9am – 3pm AWST / 11am – 5pm AEST) Register Here
Tues 13 September (9am – 3pm AEST) Register Here
Wed 26 October (9am – 3pm AEDT) Register Here
Thurs 10 Nov (9am – 3pm AEDT) Register Here

For TAFE staff:

Thursday 16 June (9am – 1pm AWST / 11am -3pm AEST) Register Here
Friday 12 August (9am – 1pm AEST) Register Here
Wed 7 September (9am – 1pm AEST) Register Here
Fri 11 Nov (9am – 1pm AET) Register Here

 

If you have any questions about these webinars, please email Sara Lewis at sara.lewis1@det.nsw.edu.au